As of November 2023 and release 3.0.0, we will no longer back up photos captured on Dispo. This will affect both Dispo MAX subscribers, and free users.
What does this mean?
Photos captured on Dispo will no longer be backed up and sent to our servers, and will exist solely on your device. Historically, we backed up your photos to be shared on Dispo, and recently, made it so that Dispo MAX subscribers would be able to back up all of their photos. We will be ending support for this entirely.
What happens to my photos?
After updating to 3.0.0, the app will download all of your photos and move them to local storage. This will happen in the background. Once downloaded, you will need to export your photos to your Camera Roll (Library > Photo > Share > Save).
Additionally, if you do not have enough local storage, you will be able to request a back up of photos stored on our servers* to the phone number, or email address, we have on file. You can request this by using the banner at the top of the Library. The back up will arrive in a ZIP format, and may take up to 48 hours to be processed and sent.
*We no longer backed up photos from free users as of December 2022, and local Dispos that appear in your Library are not an indication that they have ever been backed up to our servers. If a back up is requested, you will only receive photos on our servers, not all photos you've ever taken.
How do I open my back up on my phone?
We recommend downloading your back up on your computer, so you can move and transfer files efficiently. If you'd like to access your back up from your phone, download the file from Safari, and find the file in your Downloads queue. Once it has finished downloading, open the ZIP in the Files app (or your preferred file management app), and extract the folder within the ZIP. Tap the folder you extracted, and you will see all the photos from your back up.
I just installed Dispo on a new phone, and I want to get my old dispos back!
Please tap 'Looking for old dispos?' on your device, and follow the instructions there. We will attempt to locate your existing account either through your phone number, or email address.
What happens to the photos I take from now on?
Photos captured on Dispo will be saved to your local iOS Camera Roll, and will also appear in your Dispo library. If a photo is removed from your Camera Roll, it will no longer appear in Dispo. We will not be able to retrieve any photos deleted or lost under any circumstances.
If you're still having trouble, please reach out to our Support team. Expect extended response times as we work to verify and process these inquiries. We greatly appreciate your patience, and thank you for being a part of the Dispo community for all these years! 💚